Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Programme 2021 for International Scholars

The French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Programme offers 10-month fellowships in the four Institutes of Paris, Lyon, Montpellier and Marseille. It welcomes applications from high level international scholars and scientists primarily in the fields of the social sciences and the humanities (SSH).

Application Deadline: 15th September 2020, 3:00 pm (Paris, France time)

About the Award: French Institutes for Advanced Study is an international mobility fellowship programme proposing high-level scientific residencies in the four IAS of Paris, Lyon, Marseille, and Montpellier.

Eligible Field(s): The call is open to all disciplines in the SSH and all research fields. Research projects from other sciences that propose a transversal dialogue with SSH are also eligible.  Some of the four IAS have scientific priorities they will focus on more specifically. 

Type: Fellowship


  • FIAS awards fellowships to outstanding researchers of all career levels, from postdoctoral researchers to senior scientists.
  • The minimum requirement is a PhD + 2 years of research experience at the time of the application. Exception will be made for scholars with a Master + 6 years of full-time research experience after the degree (PhD training will not be considered in the calculation of experience).
  • Researchers from all countries are eligible to the Programme but they have to have spent no more than 12 months in France during the three years prior to the application deadline.

Selection Criteria: The scientific selection is competitive, merit-based and conducted through an international independent peer review.

Eligible Countries: International

To be Taken at (Country): France

Number of Awards: 31

Value of Award: The Fellows will benefit from the support and conducive scientific environment offered by the IAS, in an interdisciplinary cohort of fellows and in close relation to the local research potential. The fellows will be free to organize their work and conduct research as they wish.

Duration of Award:  FIAS offers to experienced SSH researchers from all over the world 30 fellowships of 10-months per year.

How to Apply: 31 positions are available for the 2021-2022 Academic Year:

  • It is important to go through all application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.

Visit Award Webpage for Details

Comments are closed.